Stanley Hammer Honorees

Susan Sheeran, President of Merced Housing,
has been named San Antonio Apartment Association’s 2018 Stanley Hammer Honoree, SAAA’s highest honor given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the San Antonio area apartment industry while acting in an honest and ethical manner. This award is not given every year and is only given when there is an exceptional individual within our local housing providers.

Susan has dedicated her career and volunteer life to making life better for low-income families. She has been true to the core values of her organization – Respect, Justice and Mercy. For almost 40 years she has focused in the housing industry. Her career path in San Antonio began at the Neighborhood Reinvestment Corporation, where Susan helped facilitate the development of a community-based non-profit housing development corporation. She moved on to the San Antonio Housing Authority where she worked on acquisitions, finance, development and management of Low-Income Housing Tax Credit properties. In 1995, when Merced Housing was founded by nine congregations of Catholic women for the purpose of addressing housing justice for the economically poor, Susan was asked to lead the charge. Twenty-four years later, Susan continues to be humble and strive for what is just for those who cannot afford, or afford to maintain, quality housing.

For full press release, click here.


Past Stanley Hammer Honorees:

2018    Arun Verma
2016    Kelley Liserio
2015    Donna Schmidt
2014    Mark Hurley
2013    Steve Ross
2012.    Walter Embrey
2011    Mike Hogan
2010    Nancy Payne
2009    Marc Ross
2008    Ginger Miller
2007    Ed Greene
2006    Rachelle Landry
2004    Susan Choice
2003    Annette Hoover
2002    David Fritsche
2001    Steve Colella
2000    Jeanne Wheeler
1998    David Humes
1997    Marc Ross
1996    David Guin
1995    Fran Weiss
1994    Christina Garcia
1993    Lucille Cockrell
1992    Yvonne Weber
1991    Hana Ross
1990    Jill Welborn
1989    Bill Melson
1988    Kwik Wash Laundries
1987    John Henry III
1986    Don Reneau
1985    Enid White
1984    Larry Van Horn
1983    Bob Ross & Barbara McManus